Banner 3

About The Book

He Gave Me Barn Cats by Maria Santomasso-Hyde

If you’re looking for a story that will touch your heart, you’ve found it in this tender story of love, loss, and inspiration. You could win your own copy, just check out the giveaway details.

Synopsis

Inspired by true events…

Maria has cared for her very ill mother for many years. Her burdens are heavy, causing a sadness bordering on darkness.  When she discovers her historic barn is now home to a mother cat and kittens, she feels lighter than she has in years. As the kittens grow, they teach her as only animals can do.

Then tragedy strikes. As Maria loses her family, the darkness envelopes her like the heavy fog that blankets her Blue Ridge Mountain home each morning. She creates a scorecard:  God: 9, Maria: 0.  Her questions turn into anger at God.  She searches to find answers as to why her loving God would take away so much in such a short time.

How will she learn to trust again? Can the kittens in her barn help her heal?

Links

HE GAVE ME BARN CATS is available to order in print format at following sites: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Books A Million, Everything Cats, Foyles, and Chapters-Indigo.

HE GAVE ME BARN CATS is available for order in eBook format at the following sites: Barnes and Noble, Kobo, iTunes, and Amazon.

Be sure to add HE GAVE ME BARN CATS to your shelf on Goodreads.

About the Author

Maria's Photo 2

Formerly a newspaper reporter, Maria Santomasso-Hyde now owns Alta Vista Fine Art Gallery.

She lives in Valle Crucis, North Carolina, with her husband, Lee, and The Queen of the Universe (Roma, their Black Cat) … and other Black Cats who decide to move in.

Excerpt

Chapter 3

Lindsey, 5-25-09

I used to weigh 100 pounds. I don’t think that’s too much for a Labrador Retriever. Well, except that I’m a female. I think the weight was due to my stocky frame and thick neck and chest fur. Oh, who am I kidding? I was fat. I was really fat. But I did exercise a lot in my early years, so some of that weight was muscle. There were two other Labs living with me then―a yellow one and a black one. I’m Chocolate, so the woman called us her Neapolitan Dog Pack―not sure what that meant.

Anyway, I exercised a lot back then. The three of us would run and play in the backyard, and then we’d run away from home and into the woods to chase deer. By the time we finally came home, we were so tired that we slept all day. So, with all of this exercise, why was I fat? I ate all my food and the other two dogs’ food!

The woman and the man—Maria and Lee is what they call each other—already had the other two Labs before I came along. I knew I’d never be Alpha, so my way of trying to find my place in this family was to be the biggest one! Maria used to say, “Lindsey looks like a brown bear.” That was when I was younger. When the other two Labs died, I didn’t have a reason to eat so much. Now, I have a nice figure, just as the vet likes it.

Giveaway

This is a tour-wide giveaway for two (2) print copies (U.S only) and two (2) eBooks (international). To enter just click on the Rafflecopter widget below and follow the instructions.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Dancing Lemur Press L.L. C.

http://www.dancinglemurpressllc.com/

Maria’s website

http://www.mariasantomassohyde.com/

Maria’s Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/maria.s.hyde

MC Book Tours

https://mcbooktours.wordpress.com

HE GAVE ME BARN CATS Tour Page

http://wp.me/p7Cq9d-5k

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Tour Excerpt and Giveaway: He Gave Me Barn Cats by Maria Santomasso-Hyde

  1. Thank you for featuring my book on your blog. I love that you chose to include an excerpt — and it’s NOT a cat talking this time! The narrative voice here is Lindsey, a real life dog, a Chocolate Lab… a “good ole girl.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

