mc-book-tour-logo

mwwc

Synopsis:

A murder enveloped in pain and mystery…

When Canada’s retired Minister of National Defense, Leland Warner, is murdered in his home, the case is handed to Corporal Danny Killian, an aboriginal man tortured by his wife’s unsolved murder.

The suspect, 60-year-old Sally Warner, still grieves for the loss of her two sons, dead in a suicide/murder eighteen months earlier. Confused and damaged, she sees in Corporal Killian a friend sympathetic to her grief and suffering and wants more than anything to trust him.

Danny finds himself with a difficult choice—indict his prime suspect, the dead minister’s horribly abused wife or find a way to protect her and risk demotion. Or worse, transfer away from the scene of his wife’s murder and the guilt that haunts him…

Excerpt:

Chapter 18

“Hello, Danny,” Superintendent Malden says when I reach him in the middle of the Warners’ gathering room.

We shake hands. Malden’s fingers are ice cold and he is still wearing his outer coat. It’s buttoned to the neck; his leather gloves peek out from each pocket. Maybe he won’t be staying long? Good. Time for discussions can come later when we actually have something to discuss.

“How are you, sir?” Adding anything else seems premature since this is our first encounter in a social setting since I transferred in. Generally, I avoid social situations where I will run into people from work, but this is different, this is work.

Malden spent the weekend at E-Division in Vancouver. I can only imagine how quickly the conversation switched to the detachment’s obligation to find Warner’s killer fast. That would lead to conversations about the points of the case, the evidence, and finally whether I’m the man for the job. All of which will eventually lead Malden to ask me how close we are to making an arrest. I hate this part of my job, the justifying when I don’t have enough evidence yet.

“How was your trip, sir?”

“I took a copy of your report along. Everyone agrees you’re doing everything necessary to find the shooter.”

But? “Thank you, sir.”

“They’re loaning us more people. They’ll be here tomorrow.”

I stuff my hands in my pockets and bite the skin on the inside of my lip to stop my response. Better that I don’t say anything. Better if I don’t ask whether it has anything to do with Warner being a public figure and not one of the hundreds of ordinary Canadians who deserve the same consideration.

“You don’t look surprised,” Malden says.

“I know how important it is that we close this case, sir.”

He nods. “I know you don’t smoke, but join me while I go outside. There is something more I’d like to discuss.”

Of course there is. “My coat’s in the kitchen closet.”

“Let’s grab it and head outside then.”

I retrieve my coat, follow him back through the great room, gathering room or whatever the hell it’s called. When Malden stops at the huge picture window, gazes out at the snow falling, I wonder if he has bad news, if that’s the reason he’s hesitating. Or maybe I’m paranoid and all he’s waiting for is the cluster of smokers to disband.

“Actually, Danny, the extra people aren’t for the Warner case. The task force for Highway 16 needs them.”

My jaw drops. Good thing I didn’t say the first thing that came to mind.

Where can you find the book?

Mâtowak Woman Who Cries is available in eBook at the following sites:

Amazon.ca

Amazon.com

Dancing Lemur Press, L.L.C

The print copy is available at:

Amazon.ca

Amazon.com.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

jnb

When Joylene’s father died in 1983, she wrote her first full–length manuscript to channel her grief. The seven-year process left her hooked and she began Dead Witness within a few weeks of finishing Always Father’s Child. Today Joylene is the author of three suspense novels: Dead Witness, Broken But Not Dead, and the steam-punk collaboration Break Time. While she’ll admit being published didn’t fix all the wrongs in her life, she wishes her parents had lived to see her success. Dead Witness was a finalist in the 2012 Global eBook Awards. Broken But Not Dead won the 2012 IPPY Silver Medal, and its sequel Mâtowak Woman Who Cries is due for release November 1, 2016.

Joylene lives with her husband and their two cats Marbles and Shasta on beautiful Cluculz Lake in central British Columbia. They spend their winters in Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico.

For more on Joylene and her writing, visit her website and blog then connect with her on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, and her Amazon Author Page.

 

7 thoughts on “Book Tour Excerpt: Mâtowak Woman Who Cries by Joylene Nowell Butler

Leave a Reply

