9 Series I Want to Complete

I’ve always been a completionist. When I was a kid and I played RPG games, I used to insist on using a walkthrough so that I could do every side quest and find every secret weapon. I’m the same with TV shows and I apply the same ideology to writing, which is how I get so much done. So it’s no surprise that it applies to books, too.

When Kirsty was kind enough to allow me to write a guest post for her site, I thought I’d take my habit of completionism and take a look at some of the series that I want to complete. Some authors, like Graham Greene, didn’t write any series at all, and so I have no choice but to read their entire bibliography instead. But I’m not going to count those.

It’s not like I’m spoiled for choice! So without further ado, let’s get into it!

Ian Fleming – James Bond:

I’m about halfway through the Bond novels, although I’ll admit that I haven’t actually read them in order, and I have a few more books on my shelf ready to go. I was talking to my editor, Pam Harris, the other day, and she said that she couldn’t get into Fleming because he’s overly descriptive. I don’t have a problem with that, and while I do find him to be occasionally sexist, it’s sadly just a byproduct of the time that he lived in.

Jasper Fforde – Thursday Next:

So far, I’ve only read the first book in this series, but I loved the way that the author references other works of fiction, and I enjoyed his irreverent style of writing. I’ve got Lost in a Good Book, the second book in the series, on my bookshelf. I should probably make a start on it soon!

Robert Galbraith – Cormoran Strike:

Robert Galbraith, as you probably know, is J. K. Rowling’s pseudonym. There are two reasons why I want to finish this series – the first is that it’s J. K. Rowling, and the second is that I’m writing a series of detective novels myself, and so I want to learn from what she did. Funnily enough, I read The Cuckoo’s Calling – the first book in the series – during the 24-hour readathon I hosted via my book blog to raise money for Dyslexia Action!

Agatha Christie – Hercule Poirot:

Okay, I’ll admit to wanting to read her entire bibliography here, but I’m particularly looking forward to finishing off the Poirot books. I’ve read a bunch of them already, but I’ll be trying to finish the rest of them in the next couple of years.

Peter James – Roy Grace:  

Despite him being a bestselling author with millions of copies sold and his work translated into a number of different languages, I actually started reading Peter James’ work after a couple of his books were sent to me by his publicists. I liked them a lot, and so I’m looking forward to discovering more of Roy Grace’s adventures.

Terry Pratchett – Discworld:  

I own more books by Terry Pratchett than by any other author, and whilst I’ve already ready maybe 95% of the Discworld series, there’s still a book or two that I missed out on, somehow. Problem is, I don’t want to finish them, because I know that now there’ll be no new ones.

S.H. Jucha – The Silver Ships:

I read the first book in this sci-fi series a little while back after being sent a copy, and I’m now two or three books in. It’s been great so far, surpassing my expectations, and so I’m looking forward to seeing how it finishes.

Shane Hegarty – Darkmouth:

Hegarty’s Darkmouth series is interesting because it’s reminiscent of Harry Potter when it comes to how it has appeal for both kids and adults. I’m also impressed by the accompanying website and videos that allow you to learn more about the town of Darkmouth.

R.L. Stine – Goosebumps:

Okay, so maybe I don’t want to read the entire series, but I do have a whole heap of Goosebumps books to go through. My old housemate left a load behind when she moved out, and so I’ve been slowly working my way through them. I used to love them as a kid, and I reckon I still have thirty or forty of them as an adult.

So there you have it – those are ten of the series that I’m working on finishing. I’ve already finished A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin, The Dark Tower by Stephen King and Colin Dexter’s Inspector Morse novels this year, so I’m definitely making progress!

What are some of your favourite series? And did you know that the plural of series is ‘series’? Let me know with a comment, and please do check out some of my books if you get the time!

Author’s Bio

dane

Dane Cobain (High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK) is an independent poet, musician and storyteller with a passion for language and learning. When he’s not in front of a screen writing stories and poetry, he can be found working on his book review blog or developing his website, www.danecobain.com. His debut novella, No Rest for the Wicked, was released in the summer of 2015.

One thought on “Guest Post: 9 Series I Want To Complete by Dane Cobain

Leave a Reply

