thirty scary tales

I received a free copy of this ebook in exchange for an honest review.

I really enjoyed this book. The fact that they were thirty smaller stories and not one huge long story made it easy to read. As she stated at the start, a story that is scary for one person may not be scary for another person. My personal favourites are:

Seagulls. This is one of my favourites. I hate birds, and I’m scared of them, so I could really imagine myself in Josie’s shoes, never being left alone by seagulls.

The Bridge Chamber. I am claustrophobic, and being stuck in a tiny tunnel is one of my worst nightmares. Add that to Garnet’s problems come the end of the story, and that is my fear. I really felt for Garnet in one way as the reader never knows what happens to her, it is left to their imagination. On the other hand, Garnet was being a show off and trying to impress Nesta and Baldwin, which eventually led to a horrific ending for some of them.

I like the cliffhangers that were at the end of most stories, as it left the reader to finish the book in whatever way they wanted. At the end of each story, in bold text, Rayne Hall explains how she got the inspiration for each story, and a lot of them are based on true events that she witnessed or experienced herself, and I personally liked hearing how each story came about.

I would definitely read Rayne Hall again, as she is a talented author.

I rate this book 4/5 stars!

One thought on “Book Review: “Thirty Scary Tales” by Rayne Hall

Leave a Reply

